Formula One: The Australian and New Zealand Story Book

  • Sale
  • $24.95
  • Regular price $39.95

The first, and definitive, book on Australia and New Zealand's involvement in the pinnacle of motor sport - Formula One.

Since 1950, 15 Australians and nine New Zealanders have raced in Formula One. Three - Jack Brabham, Denny Hulme and Alan Jones - have won the world title.

Brabham was the gold standard. He won three driver's titles, two constructors' championships and is the only person to win the world title in a car of his own design.

Alan Jones' championship - our last - was forty-one years ago.

At the beginning of the 2021 season, Australasians have won 54 races, stood on the podium exactly 200 times, claimed 41 pole positions and set 73 fastest laps. Between them they've scored 3215 world championship points. Two have died in the attempt without ever facing the world championship starter's lights.

Now John Smailes, author of the bestselling Climbing the Mountain, Race Across the World, Mount Panorama and Speed Kings, gives us the full story of our involvement with Formula One, from the pioneer days in the aftermath of World War II, to Australia's current Formula One star, Daniel Ricciardo, looking towards potential champions of the future like Oscar Piastri.

With over 150 stunning photographs, and interviews with drivers past and present, as well as the engineers, managers and team owners behind the scenes, this is the must-have book for every Australia and New Zealand fan of Formula One.

This 304 page book is published by Allen & Unwin.